Terry Adkins

1953, Washington – 2014, New York


Terry Adkins who passed away unexpectedly at the age of 60, left behind a multidisciplinary body of work, which he himself described as “[an] attempt to make sculpture that is ethereal as music and music that physically approaches the visceral suggestion of matter”. As an artist, teacher and saxophonist, his practice encompassed the sculptural assemblage of found objects, installation, photography, video, and drawing… his works might then be incorporated in “recitals”: performances bringing together friends and associates, made up of live and recorded music, improvisations, video, recitals, costumes and gestures. This kind of “abstract portraiture” was “a way of dealing with history, of re-writing it, of re-imagining it”, in order to proclaim loud and clear the silent legacies of the “Immortals”, unheralded African-American figures into which he undertook in-depth research.
With the series After Bonnaterre, T. Adkins created a surprising parallel between the work of George W. Carver (1864–1943), a freed American slave, teacher, chemist and botanist, and the monochromes of the French artist Yves Klein, famous for having created the blue which here covers botanical illustrations of P.J. Bonnaterre, an 18th century French naturalist. By letting a leaf appear here and there behind the opaque blue surface, he draws the attention to the lesser known innovations of G.W. Carver, who was also a painter, musician and creator of many pigments and dyes.
For its part, the sculpture Nutjuitok (Polar Star), on view close by, conjures up the life of Matthew Henson (1866–1955), an African-American explorer, the first man to reach the North Pole and commander Robert Peary’s travelling companion on eight expeditions. Having never been thought of as anything other than a henchman, he remained in the obscurity of anonymity. The work’s title, an Inuit word, evokes M. Henson’s mastery of that language and his close relationship with the Inuit Nation, within which he found a wife who bore him children, thus de facto helping in the conquest of those lands attributed to R. Perry. Here, the sculpture seems to gleam from within as if it had imprisoned the ghostly light of the aurora borealis. Described by the artist as “the cold heart of darkness”, the work seeks to give resonance to an experience of the Arctic, one of silence and light, as possibly lived by M. Henson. 

Frac Bretagne

After Bonnaterre 76, 2013

After Bonnaterre 78, 2013

After Bonnaterre 79, 2013

After Bonnaterre 81, 2013

After Bonnaterre 83, 2013

After Bonnaterre 93, 2013

Gouache on botanical engravings
Courtesy of the artist and Thomas Dane Gallery, London

Nutjuitok (Polar Star), 2012

Steel, glass, light
D. Daskalopoulos Collection

Terry Adkins

1953, Washington – 2014, New York


Terry Adkins, brutalement décédé à 60 ans, laisse derrière lui une œuvre défiant les disciplines qu’il décrivait comme « une quête, visant à rendre la sculpture aussi impalpable que la musique et la musique aussi physique et viscérale que la matière ». Artiste, enseignant et saxophoniste, sa pratique comprenait tout autant l’assemblage sculptural d’objets trouvés, l’installation, la photographie, la vidéo que le dessin… Ses œuvres pouvaient ensuite être incorporées à des « récitals » : performances rassemblant ami·e·s et collaborateur·rice·s, composées de musique live ou enregistrée, d’improvisations, de vidéo, de récitations, de costumes et de gestes. Ces « portraits abstraits » étaient une façon « se confronter à l’histoire, de la réécrire et de la réimaginer » afin de proclamer haut et fort l’héritage tu des « Immortels », des figures afro-américaines sur lesquelles il engageait des recherches poussées.
Avec la série After Bonnaterre (2013), T. Adkins créé un parallèle surprenant entre l’œuvre de George W. Carver (1864–1943) esclave américain affranchi, éducateur, chimiste et botaniste et les monochromes de l’artiste français Yves Klein, célèbre pour avoir créé le bleu qui recouvre ici des planches botaniques de Pierre Joseph Bonnaterre, naturaliste français du 18e siècle. Laissant une feuille, ici et là, émerger derrière l’opacité bleue, il attire l’attention sur les innovations moins connues de G.W. Carver, également peintre, musicien et créateur de nombreux pigments.
La sculpture Nutjuitok (Polar Star)(2012), exposée à proximité, évoque quant à elle la vie de Matthew Henson (1866–1955), explorateur afro-américain, premier homme à avoir atteint le Pôle Nord et compagnon de route des huit expéditions du commandant Robert Peary. N’ayant jamais été considéré autrement que comme homme de main, il était resté dans l’obscurité de l’anonymat. Le titre de l’œuvre signifiant « étoile polaire » en langue Inuit, évoque la maîtrise de ce langage par M. Henson et sa proximité avec la nation Inuit au sein de laquelle il avait femme et enfants, facilitant de fait la conquête de ces territoires attribués à R. Perry. Ici, la sculpture semble luire de l’intérieur comme si elle avait emprisonné les lumières fantomatiques des aurores boréales. Décrite par l’artiste comme « le cœur froid des ténèbres », l’œuvre cherche à faire résonner une expérience de l’Arctique, celle du silence et de la lumière telle qu’elle a pu être faite par M. Henson.

After Bonnaterre 76, 2013

Frac Bretagne

Gouache sur planches botaniques

Courtesy de l’artiste et Thomas Dane Gallery, London


After Bonnaterre 78, 2013

Frac Bretagne

Gouache on botanical engravings

Courtesy de l’artiste et Thomas Dane Gallery, London


After Bonnaterre 79, 2013

Frac Bretagne

Gouache sur planches botaniques

Courtesy de l’artiste et Thomas Dane Gallery, London


After Bonnaterre 81, 2013

Frac Bretagne

Gouache sur planches botaniques

Courtesy de l’artiste et Thomas Dane Gallery, London


After Bonnaterre 83, 2013

Frac Bretagne

Gouache sur planches botaniques

Courtesy de l’artiste et Thomas Dane Gallery, London


After Bonnaterre 93, 2013

Frac Bretagne

Gouache sur planches botaniques

Courtesy de l’artiste et Thomas Dane Gallery, London


Nutjuitok (Polar Star), 2012

Frac Bretagne

Acier, verre, lampe

D. Daskalopoulos Collection