Mierle Laderman Ukeles

1939, USA ; lives and works in New York and Tel Aviv


“(…) after the revolution, who’s going to pick up the garbage on Monday morning?”, wrote Mierle Laderman Ukeles in 1969 in her “Manifesto for Maintenance Art”. In it she referred to the invisible work of those men and women who keep streets, museums and homes clean, and pinpointed the hierarchies of values which contrast maintenance with actions involving development and innovation (usually entrusted to men). Presenting herself as a woman, mother, and artist, as it so happens, in the midst of these issues, M.L. Ukeles undertook the task of turning maintenance tasks into an art running counter to the avant-garde questions which were then exercising art circles.
M.L. Ukeles thus embarked on a series of actions including Washing (1974), in which she specifically decreed that a street corner would be cleared and washed at a precise time. That action was claimed to be an artistic performance, one which still exists today in the form of a photographic work and a protocol establishing links between feminism, value creation systems, and ecological issues.
In 1979, M.L. Ukeles wrote a letter to New York’s sanitation workers. While she listed all the difficulties involved in their profession, the artist set forth a major project titled Touch Sanitation (1977-1980). The action and the series of photographs resulting from it were organized around the hand, a hand which deals with garbage day in day out, and throws it out, and which M.L. Ukeles would extend to the 8,500 garbage collectors she met, as a sign of consideration. In tandem, she produced a series of maps of the city, Touch Sanitation Performance: 10 Sweeps Maps (1980) in which the colored lines symbolize the routes of the garbage trucks which she tries to follow during the 11-month undertaking. The circuits made retain memories of her action at the same time as they reveal systems of invisible logic for managing the waste which fills the urban space. 

Touch Sanitation, 1977–80/2017

Frac Bretagne

30 archival photographs,10 pages telex, enlarged brochure, text

Courtesy the artist and Ronald Feldman Gallery, New York


Touch Sanitation Performance: 10 Sweeps Maps, 1980

Frac Bretagne

Marker on printed Sanitation maps

Courtesy of the artist and Ronald Feldman Gallery, New York


Washing, 1974

in front of the A.I.R gallery on Wooster Street in Soho, New York

Frac Bretagne

17 black and white photographs, text

Courtesy of the artist and Ronald Feldman Gallery, New York

Mierle Laderman Ukeles

1939, États-Unis ; vit et travaille à New York et Tel Aviv


« (...) après la révolution, qui va ramasser les ordures lundi matin ? » écrit Mierle Laderman Ukeles en 1969 dans son manifeste pour « l’art de la maintenance ». Elle y évoque le travail invisible de celles et ceux qui entretiennent les rues, les musées et les foyers et pointe les hiérarchies de valeur qui opposent la maintenance aux actions de développement et d’innovation (le plus souvent confiées à des hommes). Se présentant comme femme, mère et artiste précisément au cœur de ces problématiques, M.L. Ukeles entreprend de faire des tâches de maintenance un art à rebours des questions d’avant-garde qui préoccupent alors les milieux artistiques.
M.L. Ukeles entame ainsi une série d’actions dont Washing (1974) dans laquelle elle décrète ponctuellement qu’un coin de rue sera débarrassé et lavé à une heure précise. Cette action est revendiquée comme une performance artistique qui subsiste aujourd’hui sous la forme d’une œuvre photographique et d’un protocole à l’étude desquels s’établissent des connexions entre féminisme, systèmes de création de valeur et problématiques écologiques.
En 1979, M.L. Ukeles adresse une lettre aux éboueurs de New York. Tandis qu’elle liste toutes les difficultés qu’implique leur profession, l’artiste expose un projet d’ampleur intitulé Touch Sanitation (1977–1980). L’action et la série de photographies qui en résulte s’articulent autour de la main, main qui quotidiennement se saisit de l’ordure et la jette et que M.L. Ukeles va tendre aux 8500 éboueurs qu’elle rencontre en signe de considération. En parallèle, elle réalise une série de cartographies de la ville, Touch Sanitation Performance: 10 Sweeps Maps (1980) sur lesquelles des lignes colorées symbolisent les trajectoires des camions poubelles qu’elle s’efforce de suivre pendant les onze mois que dure son entreprise. Les circuits qui s’y dessinent gardent la mémoire de son action en même temps qu’ils révèlent des logiques invisibles de gestion des déchets qui quadrillent l’espace urbain.

Frac Bretagne

Touch Sanitation, 1977–80/2017

30 photographies d’archives, dix pages de telex, brochure agrandie, texte
Courtesy de l’artiste et Ronald Feldman Gallery, New York

Touch Sanitation Performance: 10 Sweeps Maps, 1980

Feutre sur cartes de collecte d’ordures
Courtesy de l’artiste et Ronald Feldman Gallery, New York

Washing, 1974

in front of the A.I.R gallery on Wooster Street in Soho, New York
17 photographies noir et blanc, texte
Courtesy de l’artiste et Ronald Feldman Gallery, New York